finding joy

I have had a weird year for quite a few reasons. We were asked to consider moving to Hawaii twice, Seattle once and here we are still in Hailey, Idaho. It’s a love/hate thing. The kids are in a whole new stage and I’m going to blink and they’ll all be in school. But this Christmas season I was determined to stop trying to figure out the future, enjoy the moment, stop wishing and waiting for my heart to change and embrace it. 

   
 
Traditions and life are different that how I grew up and that’s ok! Actually it’s more than ok. My kids will grow up remembering and cherishing THESE memories. 

Walking in deep snow in the wilderness to find the perfect tree, followed by hot chocolate in the car.    

 

Our church Christmas play practice, followed by a birthday party for Jesus, ice skating and soup dinner.    

 

Seeing Santa.   

Sledding in knee deep snow and coming home to a cozy fire and hot chocolate.    

  

Baking day complete with Nana’s sugar cookies.   

 

Sitting on hay bales to watch the live nativity with camels, donkeys and sheep… sipping (you guessed it!) hot cocoa.    

   
Watching the nutcracker on ice on Christmas Eve. Magical!

That stupid elf on the shelf. 

 
I read something recently that listed the top 5 things you can do to make children feel secure and loved. Traditions were on the top of the list. I think that’s a big part of what made me love my childhood so much. Sometimes it’s hard or inconvenient or expensive but we WILL make family traditions. It’s different than I pictured – no cousins tagging along, no Nordstrom Santa, no cookie decorating at my mom’s. But it is sweet and happy. I look back on this Christmas season and my heart is filled with joy and thankfulness.

Leave a comment